3 Branches of Buddhism – by Judy Evicci

The 3 branches of Buddhism are: Theravada , Mahayana, and Vajrayana.

All 3 branches began in India, and developed  as they moved across Asia.

Theravada Buddhism

Theravada is believed to be the oldest form of Buddhism.

3 Branches of Buddhism - by Judy EvicciThe oldest original texts, written in Pali, as the Pali canon, recognizes the Historical Buddha. It is said that, to become enlightened, one has to become a monk. Today, this is debatable.

Mahayana Buddhism

Mahayana followers believe and aim to offer universal salvation to it’s bodhisattva, inspired by Buddha. The aim is to release all creatures from suffering.

Tantric Buddhism: a further evolution of Mahayana Buddhism

Tantric or Esoteric Buddhism, sometimes called Vajrayana (the Vehicle of the Thunderbolt), developed about 500–600 C.E. in India.

An offshoot of Mahayana Buddhism, Tantric Buddhism is often described as  a shortcut to enlightenment.

Please contact me if you have wish to discuss this topic.

Judy Evicci